The Asian Festival of Children’s Content (AFCC) aims to celebrate and promote the creation and appreciation of children’s books and content, with a focus on Asian themes. 

With a mix of professional conferences, seminars, masterclasses, workshops, evenings events, and a book fair, the AFCC is a unique event right here in Asia that provides an opportunity for writers, illustrators, editors, publishers, agents, distributors, parents, children, teachers, and librarians to meet, learn, develop their craft, and discover business opportunities.

The National Book Development Council of Singapore (NBDCS) has been organising the Asian Children’s Writers & Illustrators Conference (ACWIC) since 2000. Leveraging on the success of this conference, ACWIC morphed into AFCC in 2010. It was reconstituted as both a professional trade, and to a limited extent, consumer event in 2010. 

Last year, we had 225 Speakers and Moderators, 718 Conference Delegates and 10,000 participants from Australia, China, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Taiwan, UK, USA and Vietnam!

This year, the 5-day festival will feature Japan as the Country of Focus, as well as over 100 local and international speakers including authors, illustrators, publishers, and industry professionals from countries like Japan, Australia, Philippines, New Zealand, Germany, Ireland, the United States and United Kingdom. 

See you at AFCC!


  • Flyer (4.3MB PDF, published in November 2015)
  • Postcard (1.5MB PDF, published in May 2015)

Festival Programme Committees

Executive Director: Mr R Ramachandran
Festival Director: Mr Kenneth Quek
Festival Manager: Ms Alycia Teo
AFCC 2016 Primary & Preschool Teachers Congress and Parents Forum
Chairperson: Dr Chitra Shegar
Members: Ms Pauline Mo
Ms Geraldine Zuzarte
Ms Sher-li Torrey
Ms Merilyn Dasson
AFCC 2016 Writers & Illustrators Conference
Chairperson: Dr Myra Garces-Bacsal
Mr David Liew
Mr Benjamin Farr
Ms Raneetha Rajaratnam
Ms Linda Lingard
Ms Tina Narang
Ms Kathleen Ahrens
AFCC 2016 Cross-Platform Summit
Chairperson: Mr Marc Checkley
Members: Ms Jacqueline Chan
Ms Adeline Foo
Mr Leslie Lee
Mr Marco Sparmberg
Ms Alison Norrington
Ms Margaret Kerrison
Mr Eric Huang


Chairman: Mr R Ramachandran
Festival Director: Mr Kenneth Quek
Festival Manager: Ms Alycia Teo
Manager – Awards Mr Adan Jimenez
Manager – AFCC Book Fair Ms Celine Chow
Manager – Country of Focus, Rights Exchange, Logistics Mr Carlo Venson Peña

Manager – Country of Focus, Partnerships & Sponsorships  

Ms Mabel Lee

Manager – BIG, Language Programmes, Portfolio Review

Ms Judi Ho
Manager – Finance Ms Vasantha Loga
Manager – Catering Ms Premadevi d/o Perumal
Publication & Web Design: Octopus Ink